What is a Yoga Wheel?

15-Minute BeginnerHIIT Cardio Workout

Today I’m sharing my new favorite yoga prop. I first saw it online with all the variety of different poses you could try and I was instantly intrigued and had to order one. There were so many ways of changing the poses I already loved doing. The yoga wheel fits perfectly into my current yoga practice.

Stretching and yoga is extremely beneficial for our health and the more I practice the more I see the benefits in my life. I have been a runner for years, in an effort to mix things up and spend a little less time pounding my legs on the pavement I started doing yoga. Which has been pretty often lately especially inversions, they’re fun and pretty challenging. They take consistent practice to improve and I like exercises that you can see small improvements every couple of weeks. I still consider myself at a beginner/intermediate level. I’ve been progressing well, training my core, adjusting my spine for proper alignment in poses. It takes some time to get used to holding and balancing upside down. I have seen improvements in my posture, core strength, body development and flexibility already.

The yoga wheel is another fun way to incorporate yoga into your life. It can help modify positions that you cannot hold on your own. My yoga wheel even included a carry bag which has been perfect for bringing to work for my lunch hour.

Yoga Wheel Bag

Some benefits of the yoga wheel are:

  • Supports and strengthens back bend positions.
  • Improves balance and stability.
  • Improves Flexibility.
  • 100’s of different poses.
  • Kids love it. (when I’m home I have to ask to use mine)
  • Stretches your spine for proper alignment and overall better posture.

I’ve been practicing my forearm stands for about 3 weeks without a yoga wheel. Progressing from a solid press to headstand. (which is recommended before attempting forearm stands). Below is a headstand compared to the forearm stand using the yoga wheel.

headstand

Forearmstand

It was awkward for me to transition to my forearms from headstand. It has taken a lot of practice to get to where I am, progess doesn’t happen over night. Your whole body position changes from head to forearm stand. Notice the photo above in the headstand my arms are supporting my balance at each side of my head.

Now to get up on forearms. Your elbows begin down flat on the mat, spread your fingers for balance, turn your armpits out towards the wall and press your shoulders up. Hold your elbows tight at shoulder width apart. If the elbows separate too much your head drops. I’m a little wide in the elbows in this photo.

Constantly, focus, spot the ground to help find your balance. Dont forget to breathe, breathing actually makes your body feel lighter. This is not as easy as you would think. Breathing in some of these positions is hard but practice, practice, practice and you will find each position gets easier and progresses into some new challenging pose for you to master.

Forearmstandinstructions copy

After just a few days of using the yoga wheel I was successfully able to hold and balance in the forearm stand longer than I ever had. I have to work on my form, balance and strengthening my core. But there is always endless work to be done.

forearmforearmstand2

I purchased my yoga wheel online. There are different kinds, colors and sizes. If you are interested in improving your balance and starting your own yoga practice at home, I highly recommend the investment. If you’re already practicing yoga you may be surprised how much fun you can have with this little wheel. The possibilities are pretty much endless. If you have any questions about the yoga wheel I’m happy to share tips and advice from my experiences so far. You can also find loads of different information online.

Have fun with all kinds of different poses. Work on the areas of your body that are the hardest. Those are the areas that need the most attention.

IMG_20170629_123948_542IMG_20170629_151306

 

 

6 comments

  1. This looks like it would be great for my horrible back problems! I just gave birth to my fourth baby and basicaly am starting from square one with ab strength! This would be wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
    Jillynn

    Liked by 1 person

    • For sure. I had 3 c-sections and a tummy tuck after losing a lot of weight. My abdominal muscles were umm abused and non existent I used to dance and was a cheerleader I never thought I’d ever get my back bend again. I actually think my flexibility is now getting almost better than before kids. Amazingly enough. Don’t worry you can start at square one and work yourself up pretty quickly. ❤

      Like

  2. I’ve wanted a yoga wheel for so long! They look like fun and it would be great for stretching since I’m a runner too! I’ll have to give it a go!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is great! I’ve never actually seen a yoga wheel in use but now I want one! I’ve been working hard to incorporate yoga into my daily life and this looks like the perfect thing to spice things up and take my yoga to another level. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

