My Top 5 Plank Variations

After working on planks for a while it can become easier to hold and take a longer time to really get the same challenge you used to. If you’ve already mastered the standard plank position. You’re ready for some of these plank variations. Below are my top 5 favorite plank variations right now. I say right now because I change things up often. As soon as something starts to get easy it’s time to mix it up a little bit. Have fun with these, practice often and you will see improvements with balance and stability very quickly

  1. Reverse Plank

Begin with your bum resting on the floor. Slowly raise and hold for 20 – 30 seconds. Don’t forget to breathe through each exercise.

IMG_20170621_140505

2. Side plank with weights (or without)

Raise yourself into side plank with weight in the hand that will be raised. Now begin to lower your arm down and back up. Try not to lose focus on your form while using the weight. I’d practice without the weight first just so you can get the right mechanics of the exercise.

IMG_20170621_141601IMG_20170621_141741

3. Crunched plank to pike

Begin on all fours. Slowly raise your knees resting on the tops of your feet and hold for 20 – 30 seconds. Instead of dropping your knees afterwards, raise yourself into a pike position. (modify your feet if you have trouble resting on the tops of your feet) hold.for 20-30 seconds again. Remembering to breathe through big breathes right into your core.

IMG_20170621_140527IMG_20170621_140641

4. Plank with medicine ball under hands

Both of the following planks are a little more advanced and take more balance. But you do get better at these quickly with practice. Begin this exercise holding the medicine ball with your knees on the ground. Stabilize yourself, once you are stable raise yourself up to plank position. Hold for 20 – 30 seconds.

IMG_20170621_140701

5. Plank with medicine ball under feet

Begin this exercise with the ball beside your feet. Make sure it’s at the proper distance so when you raise yourself into plank your arms are positioned right under your shoulders. I start with putting one of my feet at the arch on the ball, then quickly raise the other foot to balance. You may be a little shaky until you find your balance. Then hold 20 – 30 seconds.

IMG_20170621_141041

Repeat 2 times.

All of these exercised will work your core and improve your balance. They are a fun variation to the regular plank but slightly more challenging. Have fun with them. Comment below with your experiences,tips and modifications that may help others. I love new variations of plank as well if anyone has some to share with me I would love to try them.

MY TOP 5

2 comments

  1. I love planks! After I had my last baby, I started planking to get my core strength back, and now it’s better than ever. I will definitely try these variations.
    One question: when doing an elbow plank, is it better to fist the hands together or keep them apart?

    -Fabi at Wonder Fabi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Because I am practicing opening my shoulders for yoga inversions I prefer to place my hands down. This is the same position of the hands in a forearms stand. Whatever feels most comfortable to you is best I like to push my flexibility a little bit all the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

