Changing For Ourselves Is Not Easy

flash saleSometimes I find the world makes fitness and getting healthy seem easy. It always just annoyed me. I was once almost 200 lbs and the last thing fitness or weight loss seemed to me was EASY!

In my mind I had way too much work to do, it would take way too long, I’d still have stretch marks and saggy skin. I could never compare to women in magazines or all over the internet. Why was it even worth it? I already had my kids, was in a relationship at the time, had no real reason to want to “look better” my life was already okay to me I thought. I had already spent most of my life on and off dieting and was never overly successful, why would I want to set myself up to fail again.

Running started as a way to get away from the usual, the kids, the routine. I mean I did think it’d be nice if over time I was able to lose weight. I also thought running a 5km race one day was a HUGE goal for me. Which it was I worked for about 2 months to get to 5km of running. I think this was one of the first times I was physically proud of my accomplishment, especially since having kids.

But the hardest part of the whole running struggle wasn’t the actual running at all, it wasn’t the breathing, or the time… The hardest part of the whole process was in my mind. It was just so much easier not to. Just like I had every other day until then. But I was determined. And if there is one thing I knew about myself was that I am determined and stubborn. When I totally set my mind to something I usually don’t stop till I get there. So I told myself that I was going to accomplish this and that I wasn’t going to spend any more time thinking, contemplating or waiting till it was a better time. Because there is no better time than now.

My mind so easily gets stuck in these ruts. I often struggle to get out of. The ruts of not wanting to do anything, or what other people want me to do, or that they want me to be like someone else. I have always wanted to be an individual. I like that I’m different. As I started running a lot of people doubted me, or they seemed happy for me but obviously never thought I’d be that successful at running. After all I was an overweight mother of three children.

And you know what their thoughts did to me? They motivated me to push harder. To prove them wrong. To prove that if I actually set my mind to something I can achieve it. And everyone would regret ever thinking anything less. Even though this was the biggest battle I thought I would ever have to face in my life. The battle of “exercise and weight loss”, ugh just the thought of it I hated. But I was committed to putting out my best effort.

Needless to say running became my saviour, my escape, my therapy. Running became way more than I ever thought it would. Running gave me self-belief, the ability to see road blocks as simply hills to run over. And that the end would come no matter what, time would pass, just put one foot in front of the other. And there are many times I have struggled to get those shoes on my feet and get out that front door. But there is not one day I regret running.

About 2 years after I started running I became a Certified Hypnotherapist. I had no real strong knowledge of hypnotherapy and ultimately I was interested in birthing hypnosis at the time. (little did I know). I did not expect this course to be “self-therapy”. Which may be why it worked so well for me. Because I had no real expectation for once. If you’ve been reading my blog or know me personally you already know that this course changed my whole life. But it also made me realize how much running is a form of hypnotherapy.

Running vs hypnotherapy, where you focus on your breathing, let your body take over, your mind is free to wander. Running makes you feel good, and builds up your inner strengths. Makes you think positive thoughts. These are all things hypnotherapy can do for you as well.

I often think that if I would have been more educated in hypnotherapy earlier maybe I could have used these skills to push through my life struggles with more ease and confidence. I also think I would not have allowed myself to tolerate as much bull shit as I did. And likely would not have told myself all the negative messages I spent years dwelling on. Why am I telling you this? I’m telling you this to motivate you that you can change drastically. That you can become whatever you can envision yourself as. But you have to be able to see yourself there.

When I head out for a run I often have to tell myself: “When you put on these running shoes you turn into that strong runner girl you see in your mind, you leave all your problems behind, and don’t focus on negative distracting thoughts. Just enjoy the scenery, life is so beautiful, smile.” This is hypnotherapy, this is a form of self-hypnosis, I have trained my mind to believe those things. Even though they sounds silly, they honestly make a difference. And this is why hypnotherapy over the long term can be a huge key to success when implemented and practiced in your day to day life.

 

“Whatever we learn to do, we learn by actually doing it; men come to be builders, for instance, by building, and harp players by playing the harp. In the same way, by doing just acts we come to be just: By doing self-controlled acts, we come to be self-controlled; and by doing brave acts, we become brave.” – Aristotle

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

